Setting Up Your Koinos Mining Node with a Kondor Wallet (Windows)

Setting Up Your Koinos Mining Node with a Kondor Wallet (Version 1.2 - 26/11/2022).

As a complete novice to mining I have compiled this guide to help others set up a mining node on the Koinos network when using a Kondor wallet. My PC runs on Windows 10 Pro. The minimum advised PC spec is:
Intel i5 or i7, 16GB memory, 1TB SSD (my dedicated mining PC is using a 500GB SSD).

Please note that after the first couple of steps. Your node will sync with mainnet. It took approximately 7.5hrs for my PC to sync with a block height around 500,000 blocks.

For all technical issues. Please get in touch with the very helpful developers on the Discord channel for Koinos.

01 You will need to install Docker. This can be downloaded from docker.com

You will also need to ensure your PC is using WSL2. Docker should alert you if you’re not using it. Information can be found on the following website for installing the latest version through Powershell:
Install WSL | Microsoft Learn

If your PC is not a dedicated machine and you intend on using it for other reasons. You may want to look at the following website for details on controlling the memory usage for WSL2, if it is noticeably affecting your PC: Taking Back Memory From Vmmem/WSL | BlogLogBlog

02 In your browser. Go to Koinos · GitHub
Click on the koinos link highlighted.
Github-01

Click on the green Code button and select Download Zip from the drop down menu.
Github-02

Once downloaded. Open the koinos-master.zip file and drag the folder directly into your C: drive using Explorer.
Go into the C:\koinos-master folder and locate the file named .env
Right click on the file and select edit. This will open the file in notepad.
Notepad-01

Change the top line to BASEDIR=c:\koinos save the file and then close it.
This will create a folder called koinos directly into your C: drive when you run your node.